Elementary schoolers takeover the interview

I park in the fire lane and pull out my equipment. There’s no rush for this story, but I’m always in a rush.

I walk into an elementary school – the kind of school I frequent to film my infamous Facebook videos.

Hauling in my posse – tripod, camera, microphone and notes – I check in at the front and get directions to the classroom.

Second grade. The grade of what-will-they-say-next.

Today’s topic is finishing well-known idioms and Shakespeare quotes.

I knock on the classroom door and am greeted by a student. The rest are doing recess inside, which is dancing to a song and someone leading the dance on the SmartBoard.

“She’s here,” one whispers.

“Are you a newspaper reporter,” one asks. “I’m Rosie, it’s very nice to meet you.”

“I want to be a newspaper reporter when I grow up,” another one says.

I take five of them in the hall. Put chairs in a circle. And place the tripod with the camera on top of it in the middle of the circle.

I begin holding the microphone to my face saying the first part of a sentence. Then pointing the microphone to get their creative endings.

“Where there’s smoke…” I said.

“…there’s ice cream,” one student said.

I went around the circle. They were calm.

But then, they took over the interview.

“Can I push the button?”

“Can I hold the mic?”

“I want to ask a question!”

Having gathered enough for my story, I let them take over.

The interviewee they chose – me.

ILE interview

Follow Hannah Louise Strong on Twitter @HannahLStrong

Leave a Reply

